Studio Time

This special set of studio recordings, the first ones to be issued since 2004, gathers up fifteen outtakes from eight different sessions, including two songs from as far back as March 1987 (before the actual formation of the Rhythm Kings).

These previously overlooked and unheard gems have been newly mixed for this album by Bill Wyman and Terry Taylor. The booklet contains all the musician credits.

It’s a very eclectic selection of songs, from Midnight Oil to Canned Heat to Dan Hicks, via classics by Willie Dixon, Slim Harpo, Jimmie Rodgers, Louis Jordan and Don Covay, and some originals – there’s a solo song by Georgie Fame, “Skiing Blues”, and “Jazz Walk”, a Wyman/Fame co-write.

Bill Wyman put together his ten-piece Rhythm Kings ensemble after leaving the Rolling Stones in 1992. The band has a core rhythm section, but features a revolving combination of all-star guest front men and women. These recordings feature the talents of Gary Brooker, Georgie Fame, Beverley Skeete, Terry Taylor, Mike Sanchez, Andy Fairweather Low, Martin Taylor, Chris Stainton and Albert Lee.

Album artwork

Album details

Release date: 27 April 2018

Format: 1CD

Label: Edsel


Track listing

  • Beds Are Burning
  • Open The Door
  • You’re The One
  • Going Up The Country
  • Long Comma Viper
  • My Wife Can’t Cook
  • I’m Shorty
  • Got Love If You Want It
  • Shoes
  • Dr Watson Mr Holmes
  • These Kind Of Blues
  • Blue Light Boogie
  • Skiing Blues
  • Santa Baby
  • Jazz Walk

Buy now

Listen on Spotify