Monkey Grip

Listen on Spotify

Album details

Release date: October 30, 2006

Format: CD

Label: Castle Records

For his 1974 solo debut, Rolling Stones bassist Bill Wyman amassed a band full of heavy friends, among them Leon Russell, Lowell George, Dr John and Danny Kootch.

But the real star was Bill Wyman himself, with his songwriting talents unleashed for the first time to prove that there were more than two great composers in the Rolling Stones’ line-up. Single mixes and studio leftovers ensure that this is the definitive version of this album.

Recorded while he was still very much a member of the Rolling Stones, Monkey Grip was bassist Bill Wyman’s first solo album. Released in May 1974, it was recorded with a star-studded session band that included names like Lowell George, Dr John, Leon Russell, Danny Kortchmar, and Dallas Taylor. This special expanded edition comes with eight bonus tracks, including a quartet of rare single edits, previously unavailable on CD.

Album artwork

Track listing

  • Monkey Grip
  • I Wanna Get Me A Gun
  • Crazy Woman
  • Pussy
  • Mighty Fine Time
  • Monkey Grip Glue
  • What A Blow
  • White Lightnin’
  • I’ll Pull You Thro’
  • It’s A Wonder

Buy now