get it here:
release date:

July 26, 2004


  • Running Time - 75 mins approx
  • Language - English
  • Audio - 5.1 Dolby Digital / 5.1 DTS / Stereo
  • Format - Pal 4:3
  • Region - all regions
  • Directed by - Robert Garofalo
  • Produced by - Lyn Beardsall
  • Associate Producer - Jo Garofalo
  • Production - Ben Williams, Jill O'Connor, Katie Cullinan, Kerry Osmond
  • Print and Design - Craig Whyte
  • Graphics - Alexander Hollowood
  • Editor - Will Prince
  • Assistant Editor - Ben Gates
  • DVD Author - Will Prince
  • Sound Engineer - John Buckley
  • Messin’ With The Blues

    A legendary concert featuring some of the most well known blues songs of all time, recorded live at the Montreux Jazz Festival, Switzerland in 1974. This film captures on DVD some of the most influential and endearing musicians of the century. Chicago Blues legends Muddy Waters, Buddy Guy and Junior Wells.

    Anyone who's followed the course of modern popular music is aware of the vast influence exerted on its development by the large numbers of blues artists who collectively shaped & defined the approach to amplified music in the late 1940s & early '50s

    Chicago was the pivotal point for the development & distribution of the modern blues & virtually everything else has flowed, in one way or another, from this rich source. This DVD features the Chicago blues legends Muddy Waters, Buddy Guy & Junior Wells performing the music born of bad luck, cheap booze, torrid love & centuries of oppression. A legendary concert featuring some of the most well known blues songs of all time, recorded June 28, 1974, at the Montreux Jazz Festival, Switzerland.

    Tracks Included: Classics such as 'Messin' With The Kid' (Jr Wells); 'Hoodoo Man Blues' (Jr Wells); 'When You See The Tears From My Eyes' (Buddy Guy); 'Ten Years Ago' (Buddy Guy); 'Hoochie Coochie Man' Muddy Waters); 'Mannish Boy' (Muddy Waters); 'The Same Thing' (Muddy Waters); & 'Got My Mojo Workin'' (Muddy Waters).

    Line Up: Muddy Waters (guitar & vocals); Terry Taylor (rhythm guitar & vocals); Buddy Guy (guitar & vocals); Pinetop Perkins (piano); Junior Wells (harmonica & vocals); Dallas Taylor (drums); Bill Wyman (bass).

    Special Features

  • Interview with Buddy Guy - Conducted by Bill Wyman
  • Interview with Big Bill Morganfield - Conducted by Bill Wyman
  • No Comments

    Leave a Reply